The City Of Contrasts…

Mumbai!! Yes I had been to Mumbai recently for vacation and I LOVED it. I was creating blog posts in my head even when I was there enjoying but as soon as I came back I became lazy and procrastinated. What can I say, Chennai brings out my true characteristics in full force.

Anyhoo the city has several phrases associated with it like “The City that never sleeps”, Vandarai Vazhavaikkum Nagaram roughly translated to “The City that never lets its people down”, but I thought the phrase most apt for it “The City of Contrasts”. If there were a contest to tell which city in India is the most contrasted then it has to be Mumbai. You can see extreme richness and extreme poverty, extremely friendly people and downright snobs, extreme cleanliness and extremely dirty, extremely fashionable people and downright traditional ones. amazing houses and almost torn down buildings. At the end I was sooo dizzy with all the contrasts that I was always like “Lookkkk at this!!” and behaving like someone very high on sugar until my friends had to hose me down!!

So I landed at the CS terminal and trust me when I say this, I saw most girls there who had to be either models or some small scale actresses. How else will you explain the most fashionable outfits, the perfectly toned bodies and the perfect make up and hair do?? How How?? Or am the one who is living under the rocks?? Anyhoodle after I sight adichufyed these girls ( I do this when I see really pretty girls…what can I say? I hv a weakness for beauty!!) I exit the airport and took the car with my friend to her place in Ulhasnagar which is a 2 hour drive from the airport. The drive was done with me screeching with joy and looking at places through the car window like a maniac. I think I can safely say my friend lost a bit of her self dignity with her driver that day,

Like any agmark mark Tamilian I know very little hindi. When I say very little I mean I can say things like “aacha ji”, “dho lijiye”, “kitna” etc. There ends my Hindi skills. So when I had to interact with people all I did was sweetly smile at the auto wallahs, shopkeepers and say “hindi nayi” and dive behind my friend who would do all the talking for me. Poor thing, she was my official translator for the whole of my stay there.

We did lots of touristy stuff there and my friend very dutifully took me to all the hotspots in Mumbai, basically she was my guide and I played the part of the over inquisitive tourist to perfection. Maintaining my love for lists let me tell you in points about some of the places that I loved the most in Mumbai:

  1. Linking road, Bandra: This.is.the.place.to.shop. I am now turning green with envy for all Mumbai people who have this shopping heaven right in their city. I was like a monkey released from its cage there. I whooped and ran to shop everything that was in sight and my friends had to calm me down with the lure of getting me my fav Iced Coffee from CCD. I bought 4 chappals, 3 handbags, 3 tops and 4 skirts there. Due to the restriction of how I’ll carry all this back to Chennai I had to cut shot my shopping there.
  2. Bandstand and Bandra Worli sealink: This has got to be a couple magnet. No? This is such a beautiful romantic spot that I felt a bit bad about visiting it with my girl friends 🙂 The sea, the rocks, the bridge, the sunset. my god the perfect combo for a romantic setting. We sat on the rocks and watched the sea for a long time before they had to drag me off from there. We then took a beautiful drive on the Bandra Worli sealink. I have fallen in love with Bandra and Worli and I kept telling my friend “Only if someone can give us a house facing the sea here” and she shut my mouth by saying the price these houses would cost. Do people really have so much money in Mumbai for the prices she quoted me? I am genuinely surprised!!
  3. Nariman Point and marine drive: This has to be my top fav spot in Mumbai. Its just lovely!! The sea, the rocks, the queen’s necklace! If I have to sum this up in one word it should be “Beauty”. We sat there for hours just looking at the sunset, the sea. Then they lit up the place and we could see the queen’s necklace. Just great. Once again a great spot to visit with your bf/husband. Needless to say the place was filled with laauuvee baards all sitting on the rocks almost camouflaged. But here is where we encountered some high maintenance snobs. Me and my friends asked this group of girls who passed us to take a pic of all of us together and one of the girl there actually said “Ughh. I don’t have time for this” and they all left with a huff. No time??? “Are you all going to launch some high end rocket from here” I wanted to ask!! My friend explained how these girls must probably be worth crores and hence this attitude..I was seriously appalled…All we asked was to take a photo..Is that so much of a hard work? Or even if you aren’t interested would it kill you to decline it politely?

Apart from all these places I also saw the Gateway of India, Colaba Causeway, Siddivinayak temple and had a lovely tour of South Mumbai. I loveee South Mumbai, its clean, has some very beautiful houses, has less traffic because they have a weird rule there about how autos are not allowed there and most importantly the sea. Btw did you Chennaites know they call autos as rickshaws in Mumbai? When my friend said this I giggled for like 2 mins..Sigh! My IQ must really be low if I find things like this amusing.

Now gentle readers, a few glimpses of Mumbai:

On the whole, I enjoyed my trip. I have many friends who are from Mumbai and I always hear and see the famous ‘Mumbai Spirit’ and have been very eager to see the place. Except for the horrendous traffic, the humidity which makes you sweat like a pig and a few snobbish people we encountered I have to say I loved this trip!

6 thoughts on “The City Of Contrasts…

    • I do this blog post in my head thing so often but I manage to get only some of them out in the blog. Its very frustrating!!

    • Babe you have already been here I think…I rem you commenting in one of my prev posts 🙂 ..But welcome and thanks a lot 🙂 ..This is my second visit to Mumbai and I fully enjoyed it!

  1. Nice write up! I can so relate to creating blog posts in your head 🙂

    Wow you seem to have seen a lot of Mumbai! Nice write up and pictures. I can’t believe someone actually refused to take a picture. “How rude!” 🙂

    • Thanks 🙂 …Yup I actually did see all the hot spots in Mumbai..Yeah I shud have retorted rudely to that girl..Unfortunately I was with friends who were all gentle souls!

Leave a Reply

